• Home
  • School honors distinguished alumni

School honors distinguished alumni

Thursday, April 19, 2012

LAWRENCE — David Booth and David Murfin are the recipients of the University of Kansas School of Business 2012 Distinguished Alumni Award.

Booth and Murfin join an elite group of business alumni who have been recognized for their dedication to excellence in business, community service and commitment to the University of Kansas. They were honored Thursday, April 19 at a private reception at The Oread Hotel.

David Booth, who resides in Austin, Texas, earned a bachelor's degree in economics in 1968 and a master's in business in 1969 from the University of Kansas. He received his MBA from the University of Chicago in 1971.

He founded Dimensional Fund Advisors in 1981 and oversees the firm's key corporate initiatives and strategic long-range planning as chairman and co-CEO.

Booth is a member of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kansas Endowment Association.

The University of Chicago Booth School of Business was named in honor of David, where he also serves as a lifetime member of the school's advisory council.

Booth made international news in 2010 with his purchase of James Naismith's original 13 rules of basketball.

David Murfin graduated from the University of Kansas in 1975 with bachelor's degrees in business and engineering. While at KU, he served as president of Student Union Activities.

He is president of Murfin Drilling Company Inc. Founded in 1926, the company ranked No. 1 in oil production in Kansas in 2008 and 2009. He is also chairman and CEO of Murfin Inc. Both companies are based in Wichita, Kan. with many diverse business operations.

Murfin is a member of the KU School of Business Board of Advisors and a trustee for the university's endowment board.

He currently serves on the National Petroleum Council and is chairman of the National Stripper Well Association.

The School of Business established the Distinguished Alumni Award in 1998 to honor outstanding graduates. To date, 46 alumni have been recognized with the award. Past recipients include entrepreneur Philip Anschutz, former Goldman Sachs executive Robert Kaplan, Cerner Corp. co-founder Clifford Illig, and Emprise Bank chairman Mike Michaelis.

Award recipients are chosen from the nominations of other alumni and the school's advisory board. Candidates are selected on the basis of their business success and service to their communities and to the school.

To view pictures of the event, visit the school's Facebook page.

The school and accounting program are accredited by AACSB International, The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business
Our Finance Scholars travel to Wall Street every year
Students in Applied Portfolio Management class manage a fund valued at $1 million
Business students get hands-on experience valuing and analyzing investments
Top 20 undergraduate accounting program —Bloomberg Businessweek
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today